Guinea map

Guinea is divided into four main regions: Maritime Guinea, also known as Lower Guinea or the Basse-Coté lowlands; the cooler, mountainous Fouta Djallon that run roughly north-south through the middle of the country; the Sahelian Haute-Guinea to the northeast; and the forested jungle regions in the southeast, which has several ethnic groups. Guinea's mountains are the source for the Niger, the Gambia, and the Senegal Rivers, as well as numerous rivers flowing to the sea on the west side of the range in Sierra Leone and Ivory Coast. The highest point in Guinea is Mount Nimba at 1,752 m. Although the Guinean and Ivorian sides of the Nimba Massif are a UNESCO Strict Nature Reserve, the portion of the so-called Guinean Backbone continues into Liberia, where it has been mined for decades. Guinea's economy is largely dependent on agriculture and mineral production. The wildlife of Guinea is very diverse due to the wide variety of different habitats. The southern part of the country lies within Guinean Forests of West Africa Biodiversity Hotspot, while the north-east is characterized by dry savanna woodlands. Unfortunately, declining populations of large animals are restricted to uninhabited distant parts of parks and reserves.

Quick Facts

Land use

Total land area
24,572,000 hectares
Area of forest
25.9% of land area
Area of agriculture
59.0% of land area
Area of permanent cropland
2.8% of land area


12.6 million
Population growth
2.7% annually
Rural population

Economics and development

GDP from agriculture
GDP per person
531.30 USD

Climate change and biodiversity

CO2 emissions
0.20 metric tonnes per person
Threatened animal and plant species
Bonn Challenge Commitments
Goal year
Date committed
Area committed
2,000,000 hectares
Potential economic benefit
628 million USD
Potential climate benefit
0.19 GtCO2 sequestered
National Restoration Targets

Content not yet available.

FLR Assessments

Content not yet available.

Back to top